Langley school rugby’s Commissioner’s 15 with coach and Kukri Sport representative Jen Ross (at right).

Langley school rugby’s Commissioner’s 15 with coach and Kukri Sport representative Jen Ross (at right).

School rugby awards to Langley’s top talents

Langley school rugby’s Commissioner’s 15 with coach and Kukri Sport representative Jen Ross (at right).

The Langley School District rugby programs got together on Tuesday, June 12 at Walnut Grove Secondary to recognize the top athletes in their respective programs.

The Langley Commissioners XV Award is an opportunity for the coaches of each program within a school to acknowledge that special player who went the extra mile for their respective teams. Kukri representative Jen Ross was on hand to hand out commemorative T-shirts to each of the winners for their efforts this year. A special thanks go to Kukri and Jen for their donation in the form of the T-shirts, as well as prizes to the guests attending the awards night.

Commissioners XV Winners:

• Walnut Grove Girls

Trista Tetreault (Grade 8 girls)

Breanna Owen (Junior girls)

Mackenzie Lee (Senior girls)

Trevor Richardson (Senior boys)

Brendan Atchison (Junior boys)

Andrew McCulloch (Grade 8 boys)

• DW Poppy

Tanner Graham (Senior boys)

Gino Paolella (Junior boys)

Meghan Ransford (Senior girls)

• RE Mountain

Chris Jung (Junior boys)

• Brookswood

Daniel Dejo (Senior boys)

Lucas Paterson (Junior boys)

• Aldergrove Secondary

Brad Wightman (Junior boys)

• Betty Gilbert

Ash Hotti (Grade 8 boys)

• HD Stafford

Wes Van Vliet (Grade 8 boys)

Other awards presented on the evening were the District Shields, which went to the team at each age level which finished first in the Langley School District.

The Marvin Foss Award for Grade 8 Boys went to HD Stafford, a team which also went on to the Fraser Valley Finals and finished second to WA Fraser Middle School of Abbotsford. Betty Gilbert Middle School of Aldergrove finished third in the Fraser Valley Tournament.

The Art Smith Shield for Junior Boys went to Aldergrove Community Secondary after a very spirited match against DW Poppy.

The Gord Dennison Shield which goes to the Top Girls Program went to DW Poppy, with Walnut Grove placing a close second in this contest.

The Bill Turpin Shield for Senior Boys went to Walnut Grove for their successful season; they were finalists in the Tier 2 Fraser Valley division.

A special thanks to guests of honour

• Jen Ross – Former national team player for Rugby Canada and Kukri Sport Representative.

• Marvin Foss – Long-time supporter or schools rugby in Langley through offering his expertise to programs needing a guiding hand.

• Art Smith – Retired teacher from Fort Langley Jr. Secondary and Walnut Grove Secondary, who produced countless championship level teams and players who went on to representative rugby.

• Bill Turpin – Retired teacher who established top-flight rugby programs at Langley Secondary, DW Poppy and Aldergrove Secondary, as well as founded the Langley Rugby Club. A second award is named in his honour, which goes to a graduating player who not only excels in the sport but will continue on in rugby as a player and someone who gives back to the game through coaching and refereeing.

This year’s winner of the Bill Turpin Award was Kadyn Foster of Walnut Grove for his dedication to his senior boys team and his work with the junior programs at WGSS. Kadyn is currently trying out for the Fraser Valley Central Team in hopes of landing a spot with the B.C. team later in the summer.

Unable to make the evening was Gord Dennison who has not only produced provincial champions on the boys side but has accomplished this multiple times in the girls game and introduced the game to the ladies side when there were only a handful of teams in the province; today there are over 100 school programs for females running in B.C.